Day 2 with the dogs.

We made it through the night. What more could I ask? I brought Sig’s blanket and pillow into the bedroom and closed the door. I sure didn’t want the dogs having the run of the house, sticking their cute little heads out through the blinds and barking. And ringing the bell to go out. And whining.

Charley claimed my foot, Sonny slept where my husband is supposed to be, and Sig was on the floor on his pillow. We all settled down much more quickly than I could have hoped for, and Sig was a very good boy. Until Sonny whined to go out at 5 a.m.

Which, under normal circumstances I would have ignored, except she’s suffering from an intestinal bout and I couldn’t take the chance. So, at 5 a.m., I took Sonny out. Then I took Sig out. Then I took Charley out. Fifteen minutes later, we were back in bed. Until 7:30.

Not bad. Not bad at all.

Except I’m still waiting for Mother Nature to take its course with the boys. And waiting. And waiting. Does Sig’s whining really mean something now? Does Charley REALLY need to go out THIS time?

Although last night went well, I did have a temporary mild panic attack similar to the way I felt the first night I had Sonny all alone in that hotel room. What had I gotten myself into? What was I thinking? I’m really in over my head. And I need my husband.

But the momentary panic passed. I’m ok. I’m ok. I’m ok.

~ by Heather on February 20, 2011.

One Response to “Day 2 with the dogs.”

  1. I’ve enjoyed all 3 last postings. I think you put me in a good light along with Mama Anna. You write so clearly and cleverly. Education was not for naught. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

 
