Early Pregnancy Daze

Back in the old days when I was pregnant with my one and only child, you didn’t know the sex of your child unless you wanted to pay goo gobs of money for a service that wasn’t covered by insurance. So we didn’t know. I don’t remember early on what we called her, but by the middle of my pregnancy she was “Rocky”. But first…

I knew I was pregnant the second my breasts were so tender that they hurt to the touch. I hadn’t yet missed, so I couldn’t schedule my first pregnancy visit until I had missed or it had been more than 6 weeks since my last period. But finally I got the confirmation I already knew: pregnant!

I was attending school, commuting between what was then Manatee Community College and the University of South Florida/New College campus, taking classes at both.

And then morning sickness hit. Well, not exactly morning sickness. Mornings were great. As long as I ate before 1:00 pm or after 9. But between those hours, I was nauseous. Vaguely so. Never threw up, but nauseous enough not to be able to eat, be around food, see it, smell it, or cook it. Every day, driving from the community college to the USF campus, I had just enough time to top at McDonald’s, order a hamburger, french fries and a soft drink, and eat before my class started. Because at 1:00 on the dot, the nausea would start. And then I’d go home from class and my poor husband would not only have to fix his own meals, but eat them alone, too. I’d close myself off in the bedroom to prevent from having to smell it or look at it. Then around 9, I’d start getting hungry and I’d usually have something light, like broth, because I also suffered from indigestion. (See previous post.)

And then one day, the “morning sickness” was gone, I felt great. I got dressed for school and realized that I couldn’t button and zip my skirt all the way up. I was so excited. It was almost time to wear my new maternity wardrobe. But, in the meantime, my tops were now over the skirt instead of being tucked in.

And then, it was time to stay with my aunt and live in Tampa Sundays through Thursdays to attend my first “real” accounting class. It was a huge class, several tiered rows in circular formation around the teacher and the blackboard a few rows down. I usually sat in the middle of the middle row. Around me were a mix of young traditional students, returnees like me looking for a 2nd degree, and a few older folks starting over.

It was grueling. Without a doubt the most difficult class I have ever attended in my life. It was a 4-hour credit class being taken during a shortened 6-week summer class, which meant two hours of class every day Monday through Thursday. And then, 3 to 4 hours of homework EVERY SINGLE DAY. It’s a good thing I was staying with my aunt. Otherwise, there would have been too many distractions. Distractions like friends. Like my husband. Like the telephone. (This was back in the old days before cell phones.)

This was the accounting class that separated the wheat from the chaff. The “break” class. You either made it or you didn’t. And it was hard. And I worked hard. After the first test, before the results were passed out, I remember getting permission to call my husband long distance in Sarasota, crying that I knew I had failed and that this was the end of my budding accounting career. I’m sure part of it was pregnancy hormones going whack, but part of it was real.

But then, there was the day i was sitting in class and felt butterflies. Not the kind you get when you’re nervous. REAL BUTTERFLIES. Inside. Like the beating of butterfly wings from inside. I FELT MY BABY MOVE!!! I remember turning so inward that I tuned out the class for a few minutes. I was smiling from ear to ear. I felt my baby move. And for a few minutes, absolutely nothing else mattered in the world.

~ by Heather on February 6, 2011.

2 Responses to “Early Pregnancy Daze”

  1. that was a truly wonderful feeling.

  2. And you wonder why I hate math so much? Good grief. I started moving because I was trying to get out of that class!! Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

 
