Another Pregnancy Post

I only gave birth to one child. A child who is beautiful both on the inside as well as the outside. A child full of laughter and life, and maturing before our very eyes. I guess that’s a good thing since she’s all of 28! Not months. Years! Yes, I’m a bit prejudiced in her favor, but her father and I take great pride in how good a job we did in uniting our genes and then rearing what we had made.

But getting her here, well, that was a bit of a struggle. To say the least.

My ob/gyn promised me that, if the baby wasn’t born by the end of October, 1982, he would induce. But you have to understand: I was huge. I’m all of 5’2 and all of my pregnancy was up front and high. I thought I was carrying a humongous basketball. When I walked into the hospital one of the nurses replied: “It looks like you’re gonna have a watermelon”. Nice. As if I needed that compliment.

Anyway, I started having contractions at 6:30 a.m. on Tuesday, October 26. Every four minutes. Just like clockwork. And it just so happened that I had my weekly check up with the doctor that morning. My husband went to work, and then we went together to the doctor’s. I was soooo excited. This was it. This HAD to be it. After all, it was October 26. Already past my due date.

The doctor examined me. Not all that much was going on, although my contractions were still 4 minutes apart. I asked him if today was the day. Was this the real thing? He said, and I can remember this as if it were yesterday. He said, “Well, if the baby comes, then this was it. If it doesn’t come, it wasn’t it.” Honest! After 9 months, this is the best he could come up with?

So we went home and my husband went back to work. All that day I had contractions 4 minutes apart. My husband came home from work. We finally went to the hospital around 10 p.m. They sent us home. We went back at 3 a.m. They let me stay. And still my contractions were 4 minutes apart. That following morning, the 27th, they broke my waters.More than 24 hours since I had started contractions.

I was 3 cm dilated. And my contractions were 4 minutes apart but hurt more. I had a lot of back labor. I tried walking, laying on my side. Nothing helped. I was hyperventilating from the exhaustion of a 24+ hour later. The hospital gave me a high-tech device to keep my CO2 levels down. A paper bag.

At noon, nothing had changed. I was still having painful contractions still 4 minutes apart, still only 3 cm dilated. Not fully effaced. So I was scheduled for an xray.

Oh, so THAT’S the problem. My pelvic bones couldn’t spread enough to get the head down and out. THAT’S why the baby never dropped. The baby was smarter than the doctors, and she wasn’t even born yet.

I finally was taken to the ob OR to have a cesarean section. I was transferred to the OR bed, flat as a board, hard as a rock. And my back labor hadn’t decreased. My soon to be born daughter’s pediatrician came for the arrival. But where was my doctor? My pediatrician (well, he WAS my pediatrician before I grew up!) saw my discomfort, knew how long HIS patient had been trying to get out. He finally called MY doctor. He was still in his office. MY pediatrician told him in no uncertain terms that he needed to get his ass here to the hospital NOW. His patient was waiting and I wasn’t having such a good time myself.

He finally showed up. As I was finished being prepped, the doctor apologized for having to cut me. I told him, and I remember this as clearly as if it were yesterday, “I don’t care if you cut me from stem to stern. Get this baby outta here!”

And so he did. This all took place back in the day when dads still weren’t part of the OR setting, so my husband was in the waiting room. My daughter was born, vitals were taken, her pediatrician wheeled her out, grabbed my husband and said “come on” and the two of them bonded with each other hours before I ever did.

But that’s a story for another day.

~ by Heather on January 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Another Pregnancy Post”

  1. I’m loving it. Love, Mom

  2. Sounds like a fun way to spend a day. NOT!

Leave a Reply

 
