Bah Humbug!

Well, I AM Jewish, but Hannukah blew by with nary a how-de-do. We did light some candles, which was nice, but I didn’t even try to make latkes this year. The last time I made them they tasted good but they looked like hash browns trying to cohere into some kind of patty. Something obviously was wrong. I kept trying to adjust this and that, and it never seemed to help. I may have to watch my Mom make them. Again. I’m pretty sure it starts with how the potatoes are grated, but you gotta go with what you got. Whatever…

Now Christmas is here. Whoop de do! My daughter and her husband are spending Christmas with his family, which is definitely ok. We all had a great Thanksgiving together. And we are spending Christmas Day entertaining two other empty-nest couples for dinner that evening. But presents? Boo. My daughter wants something, but she needs to pick it out herself because it’s camera stuff. So she’ll buy, have it delivered to herself, and we’ll reimburse her. What fun. Her husband? I guess he’ll get cash, but not before Christmas is past. My husband and I? Well, I wanted a new TV, he needs a new laptop. And our 30th anniversary is in a few weeks. But, we just had $2,000 worth of plumbing issues taken care of at our Smoky Mountain foothills retreat” so there goes that!

As a matter of fact, there have been several anniversaries that have been spent replacing expired appliances. Maybe it’s just that my appliances breakdown in the cold of winter. That sounds reasonable, doesn’t it? Unless, unbeknownst to me, my husband is sabotaging our anniversaries from time to time!

And, on top of all that, after weeks of slow work at the office, my workload has trebled with not enough time to get it all done. Thank goodness our company is closed the week between Christmas and New Year’s, so I’ll enjoy the down time before the real craziness begins.

Then I have my husband’s colonoscopy to look forward to in late January.Not that has much to do with me except act as the designated driver, but it does require me to miss several hours of work. And I inadvertently scheduled a stress test and echocardiogram for myself on the same day.And that’s a 1/2 day ordeal from the get-go.  So I already cancelled that and am waiting to reschedule when the cardiologist puts out his February schedule.

And New Year’s? Usually we spend it at home with a few friends in the neighborhood so we don’t have to drive with the crazies on the road. But we may end up at our foothills retreat for several days after Christmas, although there’s a big threat of snow. Have I mentioned before how much my husband hates the cold?

 

 

 

~ by Heather on December 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
