Before Remote Control

One of my memories of growing up was that my dad allowed one of us to stay up late with him each weeknight. We three kids had our special time with dad, getting to stay up later downstairs while the rest of us went up to bed. I don’t recall being upset that my younger or youngest brother got to stay up later than I, so it may have only lasted through grade school. Regardless, it was a special time for each kid. We got to stay up later than our siblings, and we got to spend one on one time with dad downstairs, watching TV.

Yes, we watched TV. Usually, mom was at bridge or playing bridge by herself in the kitchen or reading a book. We watched TV, sitting next to dad, who was reclining on the couch. We thought we were special. And we were. We were special because we were dad’s personal remote control! We changed the channels at his command, we surfed the channels at his whim, and we would watch whatever dad wanted to watch.

And we loved it! I have a vague recollection of sitting on a stool next to dad, even though there was an empty recliner chair for the taking. Popcorn may have been involved as well.

Funny, those distant memories. I wouldn’t trade them for the world! I still love you, dad!

~ by Heather on October 17, 2010.

One Response to “Before Remote Control”

  1. on the other maven, I couldn’t get to reply. It asked if I had a problem. Anyhow, I certainly remember these 2 remembrances. I remember that Doug was up the night of the flood. We weren’t paying too much attention, and all of a sudden Doug asked us why we were letting the water in.

Leave a Reply

 
