The Great Watermelon Caper or “Oh, To Live In The South”!

This weekend a friend and I took off in the early morning in search of watermelons. Well, not just any watermelons. Watermelons that were grown in Bogue Sound. “Bogue Sound Watermelons”. According to my friend, these are the best. Only problem is, you’ve got to travel to the beach to find them. I’m not complaining. It was a gorgeous day and the company was great. It’s just a lot of traveling to do to hunt for a watermelon.

Although, truth be told, I had already bought 3 watermelons during the summer and none of them were worth what I paid. So, an adventure, yes. Needless? Maybe not. Not if you like watermelons.

It’s a two hour drive to the beach, especially the way my friend drives. I’m not complaining. Well, maybe I am. As a type A personality, her slow, legal careful driving is just this side of driving me crazy! With my friend at the wheel, we will definitely get there safely. But a two-hour ride will also definitely take 2 hours!

We visited her condo, got lost, ate lunch, got lost, found our watermelons. Not at one stand, but 3. But none are closer than 2 hours from home. But, it was worth it. I got a seeded watermelon. Thankfully, it doesn’t have too many seeds. And it tastes yummy. Which, in the final analysis, is all that matters!

Thank you, my friend, for sharing the Bogue Sound Watermelon. Can’t wait until next year. The only question is now is: where can I find some pretty green peanuts for boiling?

~ by Heather on August 17, 2010.

One Response to “The Great Watermelon Caper or “Oh, To Live In The South”!”

  1. An adventure for sure. How was the honeydew, I’m afraid to ask.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

 
