Wedding Chronicles: After the rehearsal party.

Once those who planned to attend the rehearsal dinner got there, despite the weather, everyone had a good time. The rain had been on again, off again. Naturally, by the time we were ready to leave, it was raining hard again.

My husband volunteered to go get the car, my brother volunteered to follow us back to the hotel, and my cousin from DC volunteered to ride back with us instead of my brother. And a good time was had by all.

Anyway, umbrellas in hand, my mother, cousin, and I headed outside to meet my husband. I think he had had a bit too much to drink that night. Either that, or he had been smoking crack on the way to get the car. Because we were waiting out in the middle of the road (where the water was NOT ponding), and my husband drove the car over to the side of the house.  Yes, we are standing in the middle of a neighborhood road in the pouring rain and my husband pulls the car over to the side of the house where we are not. We tried to get his attention. We waved our arms and yelled, all to no avail. I ended up having to part with the umbrella to slog through the puddles until he could hear me yelling for him to get over where we are.

And then, in the pouring rain, we watch as my husband backs up the car, and starts driving over to where we are, getting more and more wet, and then…and then…he starts backing up. WTF? Where is he going? What is he doing?

By this time, my cousin and I are practically doubled over in spasms of gasping laughter. It is pouring, we are wet, standing in the middle of the road, watching my husband do god knows what with the car. Finally, finally he gets the car to where we are. I open up the driver’s door, tell my poor husband to get out because I am driving. Good thing, too. We don’t need an inebriated father of the bride getting pulled over by a cop on the wedding weekend or worse, getting into an accident while driving under the influence.

At least, I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt about the drinking. Because otherwise, there is NO excuse!!

Anyway, while all this is going on, my brother and his daughter are waiting for us in their car, watching this comedy of errors. At one point I joked that maybe we should ride with my brother since his car was closer. That just sent my DC cousin and I into laughter all over again, reminding us of how my brother barely managed to make it to the rehearsal dinner to begin with.

We did make it back safely. Both cars, passengers and drivers. And without incident. That isn’t to say there weren’t plenty of stranded people and flooded cars in other parts of the city. But we missed all that.

And the sun shone the day of the wedding.

~ by Heather on August 12, 2010.

One Response to “Wedding Chronicles: After the rehearsal party.”

  1. I am still enjoying the reminiscences

Leave a Reply

 
