Wedding Story #1. The torrent.

It’s hard to believe that my daughter has almost been married for two years. It doesn’t really seem like yesterday, but time sure has a way of speeding past.

Anyway, there are a memorable stories from the weekend that I want to share before old age steals those memories from me.

The wedding weekend in Charleston was composed of a bridal family dinner Thursday night, the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner Friday night, a bride and groom family breakfast brunch hosted by my mother Saturday morning, and the wedding and reception Saturday night.

We got into Charleston early to take care of some last minute preparations, like buying the beer and wine, bringing the wedding toast champagne flutes and other accessories to the full service/catering folks. Most of the bride’s family had to travel a fair distance, so getting in early to spend some extra time together or sightseeing was part of the plan. One of my cousins came from California, one from DC, the rest from Florida. The groom’s family were almost 100% South Carolinians, so they didn’t have far to travel.

Anyway, Thursday night we had dinner at a lovely restaurant in Charleston. This party was just the bride’s family. Indeed, the bride was alone because her future husband had yet to drive to Charleston for the festivities. The evening was fun, light, funny, delicious. It was nice to have family around the table.

The next day, most of the guests and the rest of the family would begin arriving. We didn’t realize it at the time, but that day set records in Charleston for torrential rains. It was horrible. Downtown Charleston was flooded, the rain was blinding. It started mid-day and it didn’t stop until after midnight. We were lucky it didn’t rain buckets during the wedding rehearsal, but once we left to travel to the rehearsal party it was horrendous. And the party was at a beach house the groom’s family had rented for the weekend, so we’re talking travel time to get to the beach. Our car didn’t have any problems getting there, but we were one of the lucky ones.

Unfortunately, several of our guests cancelled their plans to attend the rehearsal party because it was taking too long just to get into town, or they were trapped in downtown Charleston, or they didn’t want to risk making the drive.

My brother, my niece, and my cousin were on their way to the beach house, fighting through the rain. We kept getting a call about every 10 minutes because my brother was lost. We had provided explicit directions to the place, but he either forgot to bring it or it was too difficult to see in the torrential downpour. Anyway, he kept calling for directions, but he didn’t know where he was. So we really couldn’t help him at that point.

Finally, finally, he pulled off the road into a gas station, called and said he knew where he was, but he was thinking about turning around because the weather was too terrible. Well, once we realized where he was, he was actually closer to us at that point than the hotel, so he kept coming. To keep matters under control, my cousin started calling to get directions so my brother could focus on just driving.

Did I mention my brother was stressed out to the max? Did I mention that he kept wanting to turn around and go back, even though he didn’t know where he was in the first place? Did I mention that my brother had just driven 10 hours that day just to attend the festivities, so he is to be a little forgiven? Did I mention that he stressed out my DC cousin so much that my cousin took over the map, the phone and the directions? And forbid my brother to do anything but drive? I may be exaggerating just a little, but not much!

They did make it. Finally. And the party was fun. And then it was time to go home. In the rain.

Next: Was My Husband Smoking Crack Before He Went To Get The Car?

~ by Heather on August 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “Wedding Story #1. The torrent.”

  1. I’m emjoying the wedding reminiscences(?).

Leave a Reply

 
